And now for something completely different (or not)

I’m still needing to stock up on photos of my current environs.  I’ve got more of Mt Tamborine but I’ll save that for another week.  So, in order to invoke a total “I wish I was somewhere else!” response, here are some pics from my trip to Cambodia a bit under 18 months ago.

Temple near Battambang

This was a lovely temple outside Battambang, not in any guidebooks I’d read.  We travelled there on motorbikes with local drivers down dusty country roads.  By the end of the day everyone was covered in the fine red dirt which swirled up from the unsealed road surface which our Cambodian drivers referred to as Cambodian “snow”.  I don’t think this picture does justice to the beautiful colours of the plants and stones, but at least I’ve got my memories (for now at least).

Bridesmaids at Cambodian wedding

On the same day when we were travelling back into Battambang we came across a wedding party. The lurid pink tents they’re held in are visible from quite a distance, so we hopped off the bikes to take some pictures.  The bridesmaids were all standing in row, done up to the nines, waiting on the bride to arrive.  They were very happy to pose for photos while in their finery.

Mountain and temple near Battambang

Yes, I walked up a very large set of stairs to reach the temple on the top of that mountain.  It hurt, but it was worth it.  It was also very hot and after I descended the mountain looking lovely, dripping in sweat it caused my driver to ask if I’d found a swimming pool – tres hilarious…

