Mid-week baking post

Since the thermostat on my oven was fixed I’ve had a hankering to start cooking more interesting things again.  Previously the oven only had two temperatures – inferno hot or off.  This led to some unsatisfactory baking results such as charcoaled cake and biscuit surfaces and still gooey interiors despite long cooking times.  Biscuits could be burnt in 5 minutes.  I’m now coming to terms with the fact I have to return to preheating the oven and abiding by recommended cooking times (it’s all so novel! – and certainly takes longer). 

Needing something to do with the apples I bought at the Tamborine Markets, I decided that an apple cake might be the way to go.  Cake batters are generally pretty easy (at least the ones I choose to cook are) and it would save me from having to attempt pastry again so soon.  I thought this apple cake recipe looked delicious, so I gave it a go.  I may have to find some more food blogs to get recipes from, even though Smitten Kitchen clearly is awesome and has lovely photos.  Branching out and trying new things is good.  So, here is my pic of the cake I created (don’t let the photo put you off, it really was tasty).

Delicious apple cake

I didn’t make it in a tube cake pan like on the site but just cooked it in one of my springform cake tins.  Because my newly fixed oven now cooks slow (instead of so fast everything is burned the moment you turn your back) I had to cook it for approximately 1 hour and 50 mins instead of the recommended 1 hour 30 mins.  I tested the cake at this point but it was still clearly not cooked all the way through.  The extra 2o mins was perfect and the cake turned out delicious.  I took it to work and it was gone in matter of hours (which is why I don’t have a picture of what the cut cake looks like :)).

