Mmmm cupcakes…

Continuing in my quest to test out my new and improved oven functions I cooked up some cupcakes the other night.  I had to search a while on the internet to find a cake recipe I was happy with.  Most of them had extraordinary amounts of egg or sugar in them.  The one I ended up using had moderate amounts of each and produced lovely sweet cakey cupcakes.

I used a basic butter cake recipe from Best Recipes.  Ingredients and directions as below.

  • 185 grams butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tspn vanilla essence
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups SR flour
  • 1/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.  Cream butter, sugar and vanilla.  Add eggs to butter mixture one at a time, mixing well between additions.  Add flour and milk, mix well.  Divide evenly between patty cases or muffin pans.  Cook for 15 – 20 minutes until cooked through and golden brown.

Strawberry and Rhubarb cupcakesI found this made between 12 and 14 cupcakes.  In addition to the plain cake mixture I added a dollop of the Strawberry and Rhubarb jam (that I bought at the Tamborine markets) to the centre of each cupcake before baking.  I didn’t ice them at all because the jam made them sweet enough, but they turned out beautifully.  Although there weren’t a dozen left by the next morning, the remaining few were snapped up quickly at work.

