Raspberry crumble bars

Sometimes I cook out of boredom, it’s something to do at home that’s not computer or tv related.  Sometimes I cook because I’ve got ingredients in the cupboard, fridge or freezer that just can’t be ignored.  I bought some frozen raspberries recently (they are pretty much my favourite berries) and had been wondering what to cook with them.

I found this recipe for berry crumb bars that comes from All Recipes via Smitten Kitchen.  I’ve adjusted it to suit the ingredients I had available and the fact I use the metric not imperial system of measurement (or possible a strange combo of the two).  These bars looked so delicious, I decided that my yummy raspberries would be well served being cooked up in buttery pastry.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1tspn baking powder
  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 250 grams butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tspn salt
  • 1 lemon – zest and juice
  • 300 grams raspberries (frozen)
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 4 tspns cornflour

Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.  The original recipe recommends using a 9 by 13 inch tray.  I just used the one I had that looked about right (I’ve no idea of it’s real measurements).  In one bowl I combined the 3 cups flour, one cup sugar  and baking powder, then mixed in the lemon zest and salt.  I then cut in the butter and egg until the mixture was well combined and had a crumb like texture.  I pressed half the pastry into the bottom of the lined pan.  In another bowl I mixed together the half cup of sugar, cornflour and lemon juice.  To this mixture I added the raspberries and mixed till they were well covered in the mixture.  The other half of the pastry was crumbled on top of the raspberries and then the whole thing went in the oven for 45 minutes.

half finished Raspberry crumble bar

It was definitely a success.  The raspberry crumble bars were crumbly and tangy and tasted extra delicious with some vanilla ice cream (I didn’t wait for them to cool down).  Also, now I’ve checked out an online conversion tool the recipe could probably do with about 25 grams less butter (it is fall apart crumbly – but still tasty) and maybe only half the juice of a lemon (because tangy is nice but it would give a more mellow taste).  The frozen raspberries cooked up  a treat and became gooey and jammy in consistency. Check it out.

slice of raspberry crumble bar

