Spicy pear cookies

Although my baking has slowed a bit recently, I had some pears that I needed to do something with.  I thought, maybe a cake, or a fruit crumble?  But then I found this recipe for spicy pear cookies on AllRecipes.  I haven’t used up all the excess fruit I currently have but it’s a good start (and it gave me something to do the walnuts I inexplicably bought not long ago).  I have omitted the raisins from the original recipe because I don’t like them and they are gross. I put it down to eating too many of those tiny packs of sultanas as a child, I just don’t like the taste now.  It could also be that I don’t like really sweet things unless they’re made almost entirely of refined sugar – who knows?

Here’s the recipe:

  • 115 g softened butter
  • 1 and half cups brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tspn vanilla essence
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1 and half tspns baking powder
  • 1 tspn ground cinnamon
  • 1 tspn ground ginger
  • 1 pear – peeled, cored and diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius.  In bowl cream butter and sugar, mix in egg and vanilla when well combined.  Add flour, baking powder, cinnamon and ginger to batter and mix well.  Stir in pears and walnuts.  On lined baking tray place tbspn sized rounded balls of dough.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  This mixture gave me just under 30 cookies of reasonable size.

Raw dough is kind of gross too (but it has potential - unlike sultanas)

Raw dough is kind of gross too (but it has potential - unlike sultanas)

Fifteen minutes will get you a soft chewy cookie, but they might not come off the baking paper in one piece.  I cooked mine for twenty and they were crunchy at the edges and chewy in the middle.  These cookies are very tasty but if I were to make them again (and I might considering the number of pears I have) I would leave out a half cup of sugar (it makes the cookies delicious but I’m concerned the lovely taste is mostly sugar and not the spices I added).  I would also put in maybe another half cup of walnuts because they taste good and pears have quite a mild flavour.

Potential achieved!

Potential achieved!

The cookies are good though – I’d eaten four before I got them into their airtight plastic container 🙂

