Farmer’s market haul

I managed to visit the Bundall Farmer’s market on Sunday (I’d link to their site but it been under maintenance for at least a week).  Here’s a link to a list of a few markets on the Coast.  This market happens every Sunday morning at the Gold Coast Turf Club.  It isn’t huge but there is always a big selection of fruits, veges and a few other food type goodies.  I didn’t get any photos because it’s not a big site and still feel a little uncomfortable taking pictures of crowds in case someone notices and objects.  While food shopping at the markets I imbibed a double shot latte (just the thing on Sunday morning) and tried to decide what I wanted to eat.

Ferry Road market (in case you needed it spelled out in big red letters)

Ferry Road market (in case you needed it spelled out in big red letters)

I also visited the Ferry Road markets, which are not so much markets as a conglomeration of posh shops and cafes that sell delicious food.  The good butcher there meant I could finally stock up on decent meat (I’ve been off buying supermarket stuff – when I see dried blood on the shelves it grosses me out). 

Here’s my haul: apples, lemons, spinach, quince, potatoes, yoghurt and home made pizza bases.

It looks healthy enough - until I turn the fruit into cakes

It looks healthy enough - until I turn the fruit into cakes

