These are not the droids you’re looking for

If you don’t get that reference, then how I spent my Sunday this week will be completely foreign to you.  So as an end to this last week, which started off with V fest, I spent this Sunday in Brisbane with my sister at the Supanova pop culture expo.  Held at the RNA showgrounds it was host to two and bit days of sci fi, fantasy, anime, manga and comic book goodness.  Madman Entertainment sponsored screenings of a number of different anime movies and tv shows and most amusingly, the Cosplay contest.  For those unfamiliar with cosplay click the link.  Although I didn’t see the whole contest I did witness two She-Ra’s, a Danger Mouse, many many anime and manga characters (some recognisable to me like the Neon Genesis Evangelion and others not so much), and a smattering of other popular characters.  Some of the entrants had sketches or presentations to go with their costuming.  The Joker was quite good.

Professor X and assorted mutants

Professor X and assorted mutants

There were also a series of seminars or q and a sessions with other special guests.  I saw some of the end of Todd Macfarlane’s session – I believed it involved pictionary.  Following from this was q&a session with former Buffy alums Amber Benson (Tara) and Adam Busch (Warren).  They were both great about answering people’s questions, many of which revolved around the Willow/Tara relationship. 

Had a good look around all the stalls and their mounds of merchandise.  It was great to see so many comic stores represented (including two from my neck of the woods).   Sooooo many good things to buy.  The best part of the day was all the people dressed in character.  Some were part of the particular a groups and others seemed to be in Supanova’s employ (??), but there were many impressive homemade costumes as well.  I’ve got pictures of Cybermen, multiple Doctor Who’s, Professor Snape, Darth Vader et al, and even a homemade Old Gregg.  It was good day and well worth the trip to Brissie.

Two Doctors and some Dalek girls

Two Doctors and some Dalek girls

