Chocolate, pear and walnut pudding

I was in need of dessert the other night and decided that I had to make use of the rapidly ripening pears in my possession.  I went looking online for a cakey, pudding type recipe.  I wanted something similar in texture to a self saucing pudding but it didn’t have have the sauce.  I found this recipe which turned out perfectly. It’s a Nigella Lawson recipe but I didn’t note the site I copied it from – my bad.  So the recipe as follows:

  • 4 pears
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 140 g butter
  • 1 tspn baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tspns vanilla essence
  • walnut pieces

Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.    The pears were peeled, sliced and placed in the bottom of ceramic casserole dish.  Sprinkle the walnut pieces over the pears. The original recipe suggested that all other ingredients could be chucked in a food processor and blended up that way.  I don’t have one so I mixed it up the old fashioned way (by hand).  To the butter I added the sugar, flour, cocoa and baking powder and mixed well.  When this was mixed I added the eggs and vanilla and mixed till it formed a smooth batter.  The batter was smoothed over the top of the pears and the dish placed in the oven for about 35 minutes.

just add eggs

just add eggs

The pudding turned out delicious.  It was especially good with ice cream but I kind of wished that I had bought some custard (I was not in the mood to make my own from scratch).  I will definitely make this dessert again.  It was delicious (did I mention that?) and it had just the right cooked through but still a little squishy pudding texture that went so well with ice cream.  If you really wanted chocolate sauce it wouldn’t be too hard to find a few tips to make this a self saucing pudding (or you could just get some chocolate fudge sauce).

the finished product (the other photos with ice cream were even blurrier)

the finished product (the other photos with ice cream were even blurrier)

