Beam me up Scotty….

there's a Klingon on the starboard bow.....

there's a Klingon on the starboard bow.....

Yeah, so it’s cliched, but after a day of work my ability to think up snappy titles has diminished greatly.  This weekend just past I went to movies to catch the new Star Trek movie.  I don’t know that I could adequately explain just how much of a Star Trek geek I’ve been over the years to people who didn’t know me in High School (yeah I was totally cool) but lets just say that I’ve probably watched more than my fair share.  So I was looking forward to having a new movie to see (though not as much as I would have ten years ago).  I tried not to pay too much attention to the build up, seeing as some past movies have been major disasters.  I turned up just hoping for an entertaining movie and I was optimistic considering some of the actors that had been roped into appearing. 

It turned out to be mighty entertaining and chock full of squee worthy fan moments recognising people’s names or various situations (Kobayashi Maru anyone?).  I think giving control of the movie to JJ Abrams instead of one the usual helmers was good idea.  It means they finally made a Star Trek movie that had lots of people interested in tuning in, not just the die hard fans.  The movie was better for it, even if they did go down the alternate reality path again.

