Apple and cinnamon muffins

I tried a new recipe for apple and cinnamon muffins the other day (the original is here).  The muffins turned out OK but they weren’t great.  Not sure what contributed to this, I might have over mixed the batter or maybe they just weren’t sweet enough but they were still alright to eat.   Anyway, here’s the recipe mostly given in the hope that someone else might try it too and get a better result. 

On second thought looking at the recipe, I might not have put in quite enough baking powder.  All my recipes are scrawled on scrap paper so the chance to misread it is possible.  It’s entirely likely I used one teaspoon as opposed to one tablespoon baking powder.  So I’m not going to write the recipe off just yet.

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tspn cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • apples (I used a tin of pie apple chopped up)
  • 125g melted butter – cooled
  • 2 eggs – whisked
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • apple cinnamon crunchola muesli for topping

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.  Combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon and sugar.  In another bowl combine butter, eggs and milk.  Add wet mixture to dry mixture.  When mixed through add chopped apples.  Divide into muffin pans and top with crunchy muesli.  The original recipe was meant to make twelve muffins but I made seventeen smaller ones.  Bake for twenty minutes, then cool on wire racks.

the finished product

the finished product

