Snapshots of Bangkok

I’ve posted few pictures of my time in Cambodia during my 2007 trip but I did also spend some time in Bangkok at the beginning and end of the tour.  It was the first south-east Asian city I’d been to and it was something of a revelation.  It was hot, humid and very, very busy.  Crossing the street to buy food or go to the atm was an experience somewhat similar to the classic arcade game of Frogger.  I didn’t take pictures of everything I saw there, mostly I was probably too busy gawking but here are a few snapshots that did turn out alright.

temple at Grand Palace

temple at Grand Palace

There were a lot of blue skies when I was in Bangkok, which made looking up at the tops of reflective gold temples and Buddhas a rather squinty experience.

view from hotel

view from hotel

This was the street view from the hotel.  I stayed in a few different rooms in this place and also have pics from the rooms overlooking the canal.  Talking with other travellers who stayed there about six months ago, it seems that the empty lot is still that.  A bit more full of rubble that may one day be a hotel but still resembling an abandoned lot.

view of Bangkok and the river from one of the tallest temples

view of Bangkok and the river from one of the tallest temples

For this picture I was on the other side of the river from where I’d been staying and sightseeing for the most part.  You can see all the new buildings and skyscrapers as well as the old ferries chugging down the river (which is what I’d used to get to the temple).

temple across the river

temple across the river

This is the temple I climbed to take the photos (I have the name of it written down somewhere).  You could actually climb a fair way up with the help of hand railings and no troubles with heights.

