Welcome to beautiful Burleigh

Just like the sign says.

Burleigh sign

I headed down the coast to Burleigh on Sunday morning to attend The Village markets.  These are fairly new markets billed as fashion, art and treasure markets.  Unfortunately a nasty storm reared its ugly head about 9.30am and although it blew over fast it did not bode well for my morning out.  I decided to drive down to Burleigh anyway and see if the market had survived.  As I arrived a bit later in the morning I could see the last two stalls packing up on the oval.  I decided to stay in Burleigh even though the markets were a bust and have a wander around as it’s been a while since I’ve been down that way.  I probably don’t visit the southern end of the Gold Coast enough and it’s a lovely area with an old school, laid back feel to it.  So here are some more pics of my Sunday morning.

Burleigh coffee

Double shot latte to get the day off to the right start.

Montage of art – commissioned and otherwise.

greengrocer mural

telstra wall mural

telstra graffiti

Not too sure what the cat in the hat is smoking.

pavilion mural

I just wonder what was in the speech bubble that’s been painted over.

Burleigh is a mix of old and new developments.  There is a growing cafe culture alongside old style arcades and the very popular Burleigh bowls club.

arcade

Old style arcade directly opposite a new development.

new tower block

And of course there is the Burleigh Head National Park which starts just up the hill.

Burleigh National Park

All in all it was a lovely morning, despite the market closing early, and I was able to have a nice look around on a sunny (eventually) Sunday morning.

