Tamborine Rainforest Skywalk

On Sunday I visited Tamborine again.  I caught up with family at the markets for a little wander around and shop.  I haven’t included any pictures as they’d look rather the same as the last lot.  The markets were quite similar in makeup except there were lots more people there this time.

After the markets I headed over to the rather new Tamborine Rainforest Skywalk.  I didn’t know much about it except that it has some sort of cantilevered structure and that I’d meant to check it last time but hadn’t gotten around to it.  The skywalk is a private enterprise set into the Tamborine rainforest.  There is an elevated walkway, cantilevered bridge and walk through the ground rainforest.  They have a small but very well set up eco centre detailing the history, geography, flora and fauna of the area.  The walk itself takes 40-60 minutes depending on sightseeing and walking speed.  The entry price is a bit steep ($18.50 for adults) considering that there are many other beautiful walks in the area in National parks that are free.  The admission price obviously goes towards the costs incurred in set up and as I have mentioned it is a well set up private enterprise.  I took a lot of photos while there and it was a lovely day to be visiting but I don’t know that I’d go back again now that I’ve seen it.  Anyone who has issues with walkways they can see through or that sway a little when walking should probably not consider it either.  I really enjoyed the walkway elements (which have informative little info boards in certain places) the best.  Seeing the rainforests from above is novel.  So here’s some pics.

walkway

rainforest

tree and vines

leaves

gum tree

tree and vines 2

