‘Cos it’s cold in this here corner of the world

Or about as cold as it gets in a subtropical climate.  Near summer like weather for most of the year does not adequately prepare you for the few really cold weeks we get.  Rather than making more puddings (because I think I’ve eaten enough of them lately) I decided to make soup.  Not my Mother’s soup recipe either (because ham hock – I think that’s what it is – soup is not my favourite) but a new recipe that I half made up for chicken and rice soup.

I really like rice, in fact I like most forms of carbohydrates.  I didn’t use any special rice for the recipe just the basmati I had in the cupboard but I think it would probably work a little better with medium or short grain.  Here are the details (and yes there are no picture but it’s a pale white rice soup, it was only going to look so photogenic).  It was delicious though and very filling.

  • 1 cup rice 
  • 2 litres stock (I used a combination of chicken and vegetable stock)
  • half onion – diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • inch of ginger
  • pepper
  • salt
  • 1 shallot
  • cooking oil
  • 200g diced chicken pieces

Dice onion and slice garlic and ginger finely.  Heat small amount of oil in a saucepan and cook onion on low heat until soft.  Add garlic and ginger to the onion and cook briefly.  Once combined, add rice and mix well.  When the rice is well coated, add the stock, and then the pepper and salt to taste.  I wanted my soup to be peppery so I added quite a bit from the pepper grinder. Cook on low heat until rice grains are fully cooked through and soup appears thick.  When the rice is about half done and the stock is hot, add the diced chicken, mix well and continue cooking.  I didn’t time my soup (sorry!) but it was on for at least one hour, more likely an hour and a half.  Cooking time will vary depending on rice used but you don’t want the soup to become a gluggy, unappealing mixture.  When cooked, slice shallot finely and add into mixture.  Serve.

This made enough soup for approximately four people.  I’ve had two big servings of it and there is still lots left.  It’s warming, filling, peppery and there are nice little pieces of ginger that add some spice.

