Sad news for basketcases

Today came the news that teen (and adult) movie maker extraordinaire of the eighties and nineties John Hughes had died.  He was still very young, only 59, and apparently suffered a heart attack.  I’m writing about this because I am a huge fan of John Hughes movies, especially the teen stuff from the eighties.  One of my all time favourite movies is The Breakfast Club and it is the movie from which I lifted my online name, basketcase. I loved, loved, loved that movie and was also into Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Pretty in Pink (James Spader and Andrew McCarthy anyone?) and Sixteen Candles. These movies personified teen angst and being misunderstood and while other movies may have covered similar ground, John Hughes did it best.  Hughes was also responsible for a slew of other popular (if occasionally annoying movies) such as the National Lampoons Series, Uncle Buck, Home Alone, and Planes, Trains and Automobiles.

So, RIP John Hughes and I’ll leave you with the iconic letter/essay from The Breakfast Club that inspired my online name all those years ago.

Dear Mr Vernon,

We accept the fact that we had to sacrifice a whole Saturday in detention for whatever it was we did wrong, but we think you’re crazy to make us write an essay telling you who we think we are. You see us as you want to see us, in the simplest terms with the most convenient definitions. But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain and an athlete and a basketcase, a princess and a criminal.  Does that answer your question?

Sincerely yours,

The Breakfast Club

