Day out at the Ekka

Also known as the Brisbane Exhibition.  Originally an old school Exhibition/Fair run by the Royal National Agricultural and Industrial Association of Queensland (RNA for short) it was THE yearly Exhibition in the big city for cattle, horses, produce and the like.  All of these things still feature heavily at the Ekka along with the obvious appeal of Sideshow Alley – home to every lurid carnival ride you could imagine.  I haven’t actually made an Ekka pilgrimage for about 13 or 14 years since my teens with a group of school friends.  The most memorable thing about that visit was running into some other school friends who proceeded to hop on the Zipper and get vomited upon by some other punter who couldn’t hold their Dagwood dogs.  Actually the vomit sprayed out of the aforementioned Zipper and we came very close but just missed out on wearing half digested Ekka food.  I don’t remember what else happened that day. 

Knowing that I’m leaving the country for a while and that there are big changes afoot in the actual Exhibition grounds, it seemed like a good time to check it out again for old times sake.  Also I had family going, so I tagged along with them.  Overheard comment of the day – Man at old fashioned lemonade stand takes sip of newly produced drink, pulls a face and says to his son “It’s a bit lemony”.  Really?!? Lemony lemons…someone should put a stop to that.

Here are some pics I captured on the day.

Mooooo

Mooooo

Stand at the main show ring

Stand at the main show ring

Clowns will eat your soul

Clowns will eat your soul

blurry rooster

blurry rooster

I think they used ALL the colours

I think they used ALL the colours

I think the one on the left is evil...

The one on the left is evil...

The big wheel

The big wheel

Sideshow Alley

Sideshow Alley

sparkly tutued kewpie dolls

sparkly tutued kewpie dolls

