Be wary what you use as bookmarks

…or it might just end up on display in a secondhand bookstore. I found this article continuing the books versus ebooks discussion. But I was most interested in the Oxfam shop they found that displays items found in donations in the hopes that someone will claim their belongings.  People use such odd and personal objects as bookmarks, there must be some interesting pictures and letters on display. I’m not convinced that ebook readers such as Kindle are the future because I’ve always valued the very tangible, realness of owning my books and being able to rearrange my bookshelf to suit my current reading preferences. I’ve struggled with electronic format conversions in the past and I’d hate to have a library set up that would one day be inaccessible due to its format or software.  Books may fall apart but they certainly last longer than a software upgrade.

