Sunday in Covent Garden

Late this morning I set out with intention of catching the tube down to Leicester Square and walking down Piccadilly to the Royal Academy to see their Waterhouse exhibition. I heard about it while I was still Australia and was pleased I’d get the chance to see it, however the sunny weather got the best of me. After exiting Leicester Square tube station I decided that having a wander in the area and maybe heading over to Covent Garden might be a nice idea. I though that I could still go to the Academy in the afternoon, but I spent so much time in Covent Garden and the West End that I didn’t make it today. The weather here has been really good (here’s hoping I don’t jinx it) and quite warm, so I’d be silly not to make the most of it now – winter will be cold and dark…

Leicester Square

Leicester Square

This is the park in the middle of Leicester Square before it got really packed late in the afternoon.  It’s ringed on all sides of the square by cinemas and restaurants.  These are the cinemas where a lot of film premieres happen over here.

Stanfords - excellent travel bookstore

Stanfords - excellent travel bookstore

Stanfords is a Covent Garden mainstay.  It has multiple levels of travel books, maps and anything else you might need to plan a trip.

crowd watching a performer in Covent Garden

crowd watching a performer in Covent Garden

My favourite place here was the churchyard of St Pauls. It’s usually quieter and less crowded but as it was a weekend on the holidays, it was packed with people resting and eating their lunches.

St Pauls Churchyard

St Pauls Churchyard

This Church has long had an association with the nearby West End Theatreland and is generally known as the actors Church. Many of the benches in the Churchyard are dedicated to famous and not so famous people associated with theatre.

I also came across some well known streets in the area, including Drury Lane which is home to the Theatre Royal which is currently staging a production of Oliver.

Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal

In my wanderings I eventually turned northwards and ended up on Shaftesbury Avenue which is where you will find some well known theatres and productions. I was most excited to visit Forbidden Planet. Which if you’re not quite geeky enough to know about, is two levels of sci fi and fantasy books, merchandise, comics and graphic novels. I could have bought so many things…but sadly my backpack arrived in the UK quite full. I will definitely be going back for graphic novels when I have more room for stuff.

Forbidden Planet

Forbidden Planet

