Afternoon at the Royal Academy

I finally made it to the Waterhouse exhibition at the Royal Academy today. It was a lovely exhibition, but so popular! I don’t think I’ve ever been in such a crowded exhibition space.  People were absolutely packed in and you had to move quickly to secure a good spot in front of the paintings. The paintings were beautiful though, so it was well worth the trip. As I planned on Sunday, I hopped off the tube in Leicester Square and walked down Piccadilly to the Academy.

famous billboards at Piccadilly Circus

famous billboards at Piccadilly Circus

crowds around the Eros statue later in the afternoon

crowds around the Eros statue later in the afternoon

Royal Academy

Royal Academy

The exhibition is being held in the Royal Academy of Arts which is just one of the Academies housed in the surrounding buildings which are also home to the Linnean Society, the Society of Antiquaries and the Astronomical Society among others.

art exhibits in the courtyard

art exhibits in the courtyard

Fortnum and Mason

Fortnum and Mason

I also had a look through the Fortnum and Mason foodhall on the way to the Academy (it’s across the street) but I didn’t find it as exciting as the guidebooks would have you believe (who’d of thought?). Although all the food looked delicious, the place was a bit sterile and clearly full of people buying small objects just to get the brand label. And I found a corner of the grocery section where you can buy marshmallow fluff in a jar, so it’s not all topnotch gear they sell.

