Pre-Raphaelites at Millbank

Yesterday I ventured down to Pimlico and Millbank to revisit the Tate Britain. Long my favourite Tate outpost, I don’t think the Tate Modern was even open the first time I visited Millbank. I particularly like the Tate Britain because of their focus on historical British art. I have a particular fondness for the Pre-Raphaelites and Victorian Romantics and the Arts and Crafts movement with which they were closely linked. The Tate has a fantastic collection of works which are changed regularly to let all the paintings have their chance to be seen.  Although this meant I didn’t see all the paintings I remembered (as if all of them would still be up so many years later) I did manage to find a few favourites and also had a look at the William Blake exhibition recreation.

Tate Britain

Tate Britain

It was a lazy afternoon well spent looking at fantastic paintings such as Edward Burne-Jones’ King Cophetua and the beggar maid, George Frederick Watts Hope, John Everett Millais Ophelia, and William Blake’s exhibition. I didn’t take a lot of photos because the battery in the camera was threatening to die. It’s done very well, taking hundreds of photos even though I’d only charged the battery once since buying it. It does take excellent close up photos (much better than the old camera) as seen in this picture of the beautiful flowers in the garden outside the Tate.

I just liked the colour (and there's a bee!)

I just liked the colour (and there's a bee!)

And the other notable building in the area is just across the river. Home of the SIS, better known as MI6, this massive building sits not so secretly right near the Vauxhall Bridge.  It’s interesting enough as a curiousity but I do remember that someone launched a rocket at it last time I was here.

Ssssh it's a secret service

Ssssh it's a secret service

And of course seeing some ads during the trip home on the tube reminded me that I need to go visit the V & A soon. I’m keeping stuff like the Tower of London until the school holidays here are over (which is soon) in the hope there might be a couple less people there when I visit.

