Comics, Cartoons and the British Museum

On Thursday I ventured out into the rapidly cooling and far too windy weather to visit the British Museum. As it is often possible to do in London, I walked there.  It’s not a particularly short walk from my residence to the Museum but it’s not a long one either.  As I wandered down Tottenham Court Road on my way there, it became obvious that a)wearing tights is a good thing and that b) I was going to spend much of my time outdoors today either holding down my skirt from the gusting wind, or trying to keep my hair out of my eyes so that I could at least see who I was showing far too much of my tights to. Beyond that, it was a lovely day. 

I made a detour early on and spent some time looking around the Cartoon Museum.  This is not a free museum, it’s a small, privately owned enterprise. If you have an interest in comics and cartoons and the history of such art forms in Britain, it’s a good place to spend some time. Their current special exhibition are the works of Rowland Emmett who was a well known British cartoonist and designer/inventor (he designed the fantastical machines in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang). The museum also runs drawing, animation, manga and claymation classes for kids and adults. There’s a few comic shops nearby selling all sorts of good stuff. Unlike my visit to Forbidden Planet, I sadly did not manage to leave before acquiring some important reading material from Gosh!

Cartoon Museum

Cartoon Museum

I finally got to the other Museum in the afternoon and it was, as usual, packed with people. There were tour groups everywhere.  But, it is to be expected in such a place so I gritted my teeth and got on with having a gander. I visted the Museum a few times when I was last here and even managed to have a look not long after they unveiled the Great Court. In the end, I spent a few hours there but the Museum really takes more than one visit if you want to see it in any detail.  So, I’ve had a look at the ground floor and will have to make another trip for the first floor because after a couple of hours of  looking and wandering, my feet were sore and it wasn’t that far off closing time. Here’s a few pictures of some things I did see.

Museum entrance

Museum entrance

Great Court and roof

Great Court and roof

Totem pole in Great Court

Totem pole in Great Court

massive Egyptian sculpture

massive Egyptian sculpture

African cast bronze sculpture

African cast bronze sculpture

