The Eye of London Town

I took the short trip to Westminster today to have a look around the many sights in the area and get some idea of the boat trips running from Westminster pier.  I will admit I took heaps of photos today, so am only posting a few from my ride on the London Eye for the moment.  There are others of Westminster Abbey which I didn’t go inside because after spending nearly twenty pounds to go on the Eye, I balked at spending fifteen (count them 15!) pounds to go in the Abbey.

Although I understand that these buildings need the funds to survive, fifteen pounds is very pricey for what increasingly seems to be a tourist attraction rather than a place of worship.  I’m sure it’s Masses are probably well attended but it’s not exactly a place you can go for some quiet contemplation on a daily basis.  How would you even get in without spending the dosh – do they issue cards or something, designating authorised parishioners so the guys on the door let you in? (And the people on the door are lovely, one gentlemen let me into a roped off alcove outside the building to take a couple of pictures.)  Besides, the place would be crammed full of tourists which is not peaceful making. Anyways – rant over – here are my pics of the Eye and the view from the top.

view from Westminster Bridge

view from Westminster Bridge

view from below

view from below

Big ben visible in the middle

Big Ben visible in the middle

viewing pods at the top

viewing pods at the top - Westminster Bridge bottom right; Houses of Parliament middle right; Battersea Power Station top right

Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey

Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey

Buckingham Palace

Buckingham Palace

view of the City - Gherkin on the right, St Paul's on the left

view of the City - Gherkin on the right, St Paul's on the left

