As you like it

Although I haven’t posted any of my pictures from last weekend (and I had a lovely trip to Greenwich) I thought I’d put up a couple of pics of my visit to the Globe Theatre to see a production of the Shakespeare comedy As you like it. It was great fun and I really enjoyed it.  It’s been ages since I’ve been to the theatre and it made me wonder why I don’t go more.  The actors were excellent and the play very amusing.  If you visit London during the Globe season (usually June to October) I suggest getting tickets because it’s well worth it. You can buy groundling (standing) tickets for 5 pounds (it’s just occurred to me I don’t know where my pound symbol key is), with the other tickets ranging from 15 – 33 pounds.  I had a 15 pound ticket which is classed as limited view but because most of the action happened toward the front of the stage I didn’t really miss anything.

filling up before the performance

filling up before the performance

it's a bit blurry but this is best picture I took of the stage

it's a bit blurry but this is best picture I took of the stage

You’re not allowed to take pictures during the performance, so this is all I can share about the inside of the theatre. There is also a short run of Love’s labour’s lost on at the Globe before the end of season that I might try and see as well. And to continue on the Shakespearean theme, tomorrow I’m going to the National Theatre at Southbank to see a Sunday afternoon matinee of All’s well that ends well.

