Last weekend…

Although I was feeling ill all last week with a cold I did venture out for a short while. I had already booked for Seasons Greetings at the National Theatre and couldn’t bear to waste the ticket. Seasons Greetings is a black comedy by Alan Ayckbourn set over four day period at Christmas, displaying varied forms of the drunkenness, hysteria and misunderstandings possible when family gathers for a celebration. Despite being written in 1980 it feels timeless, discussions had about Christmas telly and dinner will be familiar to many, and it is still very funny. The version currently playing stars Catherine Tate, Mark Gatiss, Katherine Parkinson, Nicola Walker and Jenna Russell among others.

Rooftop view at the National Theatre last Spring

I’ve been lucky to get to some really good plays and shows while I’ve been in London. While I haven’t spent much time seeing really big name stuff in the West End I have spent my time wisely on the South Bank of the river. The National Theatre almost always has something worth seeing and the Globe is excellent for exciting renditions of Shakespeare. My next planned visit to the National is in March for the Danny Boyle production of Frankenstein starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller. I also have designs on a ticket to the Wyndhams Theatre production of Much ado about nothing with David Tennant and Catherine Tate as Benedick and Beatrice. Must secure ticket soon.

Spring garden on the National rooftop

