Climbing the Tor

My first trip to Glastonbury was many years ago now, part of a English road trip accompanying my grandfather. We wandered the town, visited the Abbey but I didn’t make it to the Tor. Time was fleeting and we had distance to cover returning to Norfolk. I’d always hoped to go back for another look and to finally get to the top of the Tor. As I hopped a bus from Bristol to Glastonbury (via Wells) I was well caffeinated and happy the weather was cooperating with my plans. The bus journey isn’t particularly fast but I like to sightsee from buses and trains, so was content to stare out at the green hills and fields while we trundled along.

On revisiting the Abbey I found it was just as I remembered but I do recommend visiting as it has a fascinating history and there are guided tours to explain more about the ruins.

After visiting the Abbey I walked out of town towards the Tor. On the way I stopped at the Chalice Well, one of many local points of interest marked out on a map by the very helpful lady at the Tourist information centre. The Chalice Well and gardens were lovely but other springs in the area can be visited for free (hippies and new agers are standard at all sites :)).

The water from the holy spring has a strong iron content which gives the spring channel this charming reddish hue. The water is drinkable (though with definite iron flavour) and is said to have healing properties.

The walk up the Tor is well marked and maintained by the National Trust. Because it stands out among the local fields, the views on a good day are far reaching and you can try to spot nearby towns and villages and watch woolly sheep graze in paddocks below.

Someone in Glastonbury is obviously feeling the love…

