Northerly wanderings

I visited Newcastle this summer for the first time. Prior to my trip lots of people made variations of the “It’s grim oop north” jokes but Newcastle was surprisingly un-grim and I was impressed by the architecture of the city, both old and new.

I know The Sage is officially a part of Gateshead rather than Newcastle but it is an impressive part of the Tyneside waterfront.

One of the features of the Millennium Bridge is how it rises to allow for passing river traffic daily.

The view from Newcastle’s castle toward the Quayside.

I also visited Bede’s world at Jarrow. It’s a very nice, newish museum dedicated to the Venerable Bede, a monk of 7th/8th century England who wrote The Ecclesiastical History of the English People, a book I read many times while studying history at Uni. The museum isn’t the easiest place to get to via public transport in between thunderstorms but I’m glad I made the trip.

The shiny new(ish) public library in the centre of town.

And one last view of the bridges lit for night-time.

